Show menu

Founding Story

Rebecca van Bergen, Founder and Executive Director of Nest graduated with her Masters Degree in Social Work the same year that Muhammad Yunus won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Having grown up with a great-grandmother and grandmother who were quilters and sewers, Rebecca was drawn to craftsmanship as a means of self-expression and opportunity. Following her passion to turn craft, the second largest employer of women globally, into a means to correct the gender and income imbalance in our world, Rebecca founded Nest at age 24.

More than 11 years later, Rebecca’s leadership, determination, and enthusiasm continue to propel Nest forward.

Rebecca is a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader, Ashoka Fellow, Levi Strauss & Co. Collaboratory Fellow, Draper Richards Kaplan Fellow, Cordes Fellow, and GLG Social Impact Fellow. When she is not traveling the world with Nest, she enjoys spending time enjoying the power of making with her husband and two children.

Download Speaker Profile
Graph showing Nest financials


World Economic Forum Young Global Leader

Ashoka Fellow

CFDA Lexus Challenge Advisor

Fabric of Change Award from C&A Foundation and Ashoka

Meet Our Family

Leadership and Team

Rebecca Van Bergen
Founder and Executive Director

Christopher Van Bergen
Chief Operating Officer

Ashia Sheikh
Chief Strategy and Partnerships Officer

Kristin Schneider
Chief Marketing Officer

Annie Millican
Director of Sourcing and Artisan Business Development

Sara Otto
Director of Artisan Compliance and Programming

Marika Shiga
Director of Engagement & Partnerships

Amanda Lee
Director of Brand Strategy and Artisan Production

Joellen Nicholson
Director of Artisan Engagement and Fellowships

Amélie Decaix
Manager of Finance and Administration

Brenda Gottsabend
Project Manager and Graphic Designer

Meghan Black
Manager of Philanthropy

Shalini Suresh
Manager of Compliance & Research

Lindsey Struck
Director of Institutional Giving and Impact

Board of Trustees

Jim Brigham, Chair

Marty Cordes

Brendan Cullen

Ivanka Mamic

Julie Meyer

Louise Parzick

Nicole Pechanec

Marissa Sackler

Iliane Ogilvie Thompson

Heather Winn Bowman

Advisory Board

Alex Bellos

Allison Whipple Rockefeller

Amanda Hearst

Amber Valletta

Amy Christiansen Si-Ahmed

Andrew Morgan

Anne Wattis

Ashley Shaw-Scott Adjaye

Bandana Tewari

Burak Cakmak

David Adjaye

Deborah Keiser

Ellice Sperber

Jeffrey Brown

Jill Iscol

Jim Brett

Krista Stack

Kristy Caylor

Lauren Bush Lauren

Livia Firth

Mara Hoffman

Melissa Joy Manning

Nadja Swarovski

Natalie Chanin

Niclas Kjellström-Matseke

Pam Baer

Paul Van Zyl

Phoebe Campbell

Sean Ansett

Steven Kolb

Susan McPherson

Wen Zhou

Founding Board

Ann Vonallmen

David Vonallmen

Alison Sheehan

Kari Erickson Woolf

Lauren Hurst

Molly Carter

Susanna Johnson Bird

Philanthropic Partners

  • Bloomberg Philanthropies
  • Cordes Foundation
  • Curry Stone Foundation
  • Doris Duke Foundation
  • Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation
  • Fabric of Change -Ashoka & C&A Foundation
  • Fullen-Smith Foundation
  • Goodrich Foundation
  • Humanity United
  • IF Hummingbird Foundation
  • Imago Dei Foundation
  • Kastory Family Foundation
  • Patagonia Foundation
  • QVC
  • Staples Trust
  • Swarovski Foundation
  • Swedish Postcode Lottery – Culture Fund
  • Target
  • Winn Family Foundation